Dr. Klaus Jaeger

Dr. Klaus Jaeger has been in charge of the Covestro sites in North Rhine-Westphalia since July 2010.

Born in Gummersbach in 1960, Jaeger began his career with Bayer AG in 1991 as a laboratory manager in the Central Research department in Leverkusen. In 1997, he was appointed head of the production facility for the polyurethane precursor TDI/TDA in Dormagen, where he helped, among other things, to get the new, large-scale TDA plant up and running in 2003.

Beginning in 2004, Jaeger planned capital expenditures in the Asia-Pacific region as head of MDI/TDI master planning for the Polyurethanes Business Unit. In association with this, he was transferred to Shanghai as head of polyurethane production in the Asia-Pacific region in 2006. His first job there was to set up the production facilities for MDI, another key polyurethane precursor. In 2007, he was appointed plant manager of the integrated Shanghai site and was also responsible for the former production companies Bayer Polymer Shanghai and Bayer Polyurethanes Shanghai.
During this time, major capital expenditure projects in this region (e.g. the MDI/TDI facilities) were completed and commissioned, site services were established and the local production companies were merged to become Bayer MaterialScience China. In 2010, Jaeger returned to North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW) to establish the NRW site network, which today belongs to Covestro. Bayer MaterialScience was made a separate company, Covestro, in 2015.

Klaus Jaeger studied at the University of Siegen, the Université Pierre & Marie Curie in Paris and at the Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research in Bremerhaven, where he obtained a doctorate in physical chemistry.

Dr. Klaus Jaeger

Dr. Klaus Jaeger ist seit Juli 2010 Leiter der Standorte von Covestro in Nordrhein-Westfalen.

Geboren 1960 in Gummersbach, begann Jaeger seine berufliche Laufbahn bei der Bayer AG im Jahr 1991 als Laborleiter in der Zentralen Forschung in Leverkusen. 1997 wurde er Leiter des Betriebs zur Herstellung der Polyurethan-Vorprodukte TDI/TDA in Dormagen, wo er unter anderem 2003 die neue TDA-Großanlage mit in Betrieb nahm.

Als Leiter Masterplanning MDI/TDI für den Geschäftsbereich Polyurethane plante Jaeger ab 2004 die Investitionen im Raum Asien/Pazifik. In diesem Zusammenhang wurde er 2006 als Leiter der Polyurethane-Produktion Asien-Pazifik nach Shanghai versetzt. Dort war er zunächst mit dem Aufbau der Produktion von MDI beauftragt, einem weiteren zentralen Polyurethan-Vorprodukt. 2007 übernahm Jaeger die Werkleitung des integrierten Standorts Shanghai sowie die Geschäftsleitung der damaligen Produktionsgesellschaften Bayer Polymer Shanghai und Bayer Polyurethanes Shanghai.
In diese Zeit fallen Konstruktion und Inbetriebnahme der dortigen Großinvestitionen wie der MDI- und TDI-Anlage, der Aufbau der Standortservices sowie der Zusammenschluss der lokalen Produktionsgesellschaften zu „Bayer MaterialScience China“. 2010 kehrte Jaeger nach Deutschland zurück, um den Standortverbund NRW aufzubauen, der heute zu Covestro gehört. Bayer MaterialScience wurde 2015 in das eigenständige Unternehmen Covestro überführt.

Klaus Jaeger studierte an der Universität Siegen, der Universität Pierre & Marie Curie in Paris sowie am Alfred-Wegener-Institut für Polar- und Meeresforschung in Bremerhaven, wo er im Fach physikalische Chemie promovierte.