Dr. Steffen Kühling

Dr. Steffen Kühling has been in charge of the Brunsbüttel site since January 1, 2016.

Born in 1963, Kühling studied macromolecular chemistry at RWTH Aachen University. Kühling joined Bayer in 1990 as a chemist and served in a variety of research and development positions in the former Plastics Business Group.

In 1996, he was appointed polycarbonate production plant manager in Antwerp, Belgium. Three years later, he returned to Bayer Group headquarters in Leverkusen, where he worked in Strategic Planning.

In 2002, Kühling was appointed head of the Reaction and Process Research Department at Bayer Technology Services. He assumed leadership of Production & Technology at the Coatings, Adhesives, Specialties Business Unit (CAS) in 2004.

Six years later, he was named global production manager for MDI and TDI production at the Polyurethanes Business Unit. As program manager, he has had overall responsibility for the TDI project in Dormagen since 2013.

Steffen Kühling is married and has two sons.

Dr. Steffen Kühling

Dr. Steffen Kühling leitet seit 1. Januar 2016 den Standort Brunsbüttel.

Kühling, geboren 1963, studierte Makromolekular-Chemie an der RWTH Aachen. 1990 trat Kühling als Chemiker bei Bayer ein und war in unterschiedlichen Positionen in Forschung und Entwicklung im ehemaligen Bereich Kunststoffe tätig.

1996 wurde er Betriebsleiter der Polycarbonat-Produktion in Antwerpen (Belgien). Nach drei Jahren kehrte er zurück in die Bayer-Konzernzentrale in Leverkusen und arbeitete dort im Bereich Strategische Planung.

2002 übernahm Kühling die Abteilung Reaktions- und Verfahrensforschung innerhalb der Bayer Technology Services. 2004 wurde ihm die Leitung des Ressorts Produktion & Technologie innerhalb der Business Unit Coatings, Adhesives, Specialities (CAS) übertragen.

Sechs Jahre später wurde er zum globalen Produktionsleiter für die MDI- und TDI-Produktion in der Business Unit Polyurethanes ernannt. Seit 2013 leitete er gesamtverantwortlich als Programmmanager das TDI-Projekt in Dormagen.

Steffen Kühling ist verheiratet und hat zwei Söhne.