Questions and answers

How many classes can I register to participate each semester?

Because of the high demand for our programs, you can register only one class or group per semester at the Covestro Science Lab. We apologize for this limitation, but we would like to enable as many schools/institutions as possible to have a day at our Science Lab.

What is the maximum number of participants in a program at Covestro Science Lab?
The ideal group size is between 18 and 24 participants. The size of a group is limited to a maximum of 30 participants (including teachers/supervisors). Teamwork is very important in our Science Lab courses. Large groups make teamwork more difficult, and it frequently is hard for the students to achieve the educational objectives of the program. The feeling of working in a real company also gets lost in a large group.

Can participants also receive information on career and vocational training opportunities?
They certainly can! Please state this request when you register your group. By request we can offer a roughly one-hour information event on vocational and academic career opportunities at Covestro and Currenta.
How far in advance can I book a program?
We usually accept registrations around the time of the fall and Easter breaks for the subsequent school semester. The exact dates will be posted here on our website. Exceptions are made for groups that need to plan an overnight stay, e.g in a youth hostel. Such groups are welcome to plan farther in advance.
Please state this request when you inquire about available dates.
Can we find out in advance which product is going to be made?
We can let you know shortly before your scheduled visit. Unfortunately, we cannot let you know far in advance. However, knowing the product is not critical to a successful day at Covestro Science Lab. No matter what the object, the participants will experience how a product idea is converted into a finished product – which they can also take home.
Should we divide up the group into teams before our scheduled visit?
Please don't! The groups need not be of the same size. It is important to us that the participants divide up into teams themselves. As the day progresses, they take responsibility for the success of their teamwork. To this end, it is important that joining a certain group is voluntary. If they fail to form teams, or if a team is too small, then we can show them how we deal with such situations in the company.
Can I also bring an 8th grade class to the Covestro Science Lab?
You are welcome to bring your 8th graders if all of them are at least 14 years old. Due to Chempark regulations and the German Youth Protection Act, no exceptions can be made to this minimum age limit. It is particularly effective for those grades to visit us that are currently in the career orientation phase.

Fragen und Antworten

Wie viele Klassen kann ich in einem Halbjahr anmelden?
Wegen der großen Nachfrage an unseren Terminen können Sie pro Schule maximal eine Klasse oder Gruppe je Halbjahr im Covestro Science Lab anmelden. Bitte haben Sie Verständnis für diese Einschränkung. Wir möchten möglichst vielen Schulen/Einrichtungen die Teilnahme an einem Tag im Schülerlabor ermöglichen.

Wie viele Teilnehmer können maximal an einem Termin im Covestro Science Lab teilnehmen?

Die ideale Gruppengröße liegt bei 18 bis 24 Teilnehmern. Die Gruppengröße ist auf eine Gesamtzahl von 30 Teilnehmern (inklusive Begleiter) begrenzt, mindestens aber 15. Bei den Kursen im Covestro Science Lab kommt der Teamarbeit große Bedeutung zu. Bei großen Gruppen wird die Zusammenarbeit erschwert und den Schülern fällt es oft schwer, die Lernziele zu erreichen. Dadurch gerät der Bezug zur Realität in einem Unternehmen in den Hintergrund.

Kann man auch Informationen zu Berufs- und Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten erhalten?
Ja! Bitte melden Sie diesen Wunsch bei der Anmeldung an. Optional können wir eine etwa einstündige Information über Ausbildungs- und Studienberufe bei Covestro und Currenta anbieten.

Wie weit im Voraus kann ich Termine vereinbaren?

In der Regel geben wir um die Herbst- und Osterferien die Termine für das nachfolgende Schulhalbjahr frei. Die genauen Daten kündigen wir Ihnen auf diesen Seiten an. Ausnahmen bestehen für Gruppen, die eine Übernachtung beispielsweise in einer Jugendherberge einplanen müssen. Diese Gruppen können selbstverständlich auch über einen längeren Zeitraum planen.
Bitte geben Sie diese Besonderheit bei Ihrer Terminanfrage an.

Kann man im Voraus erfahren, welches Produkt hergestellt werden soll?
Kurz vor dem Termin können wir Ihnen das sicherlich sagen. Langfristig ist das leider nicht möglich. Für das Gelingen des Tages ist es aber auch nicht notwendig. In jedem Fall erfahren die Teilnehmer, wie aus einer Produktidee ein fertiges Produkt wird. Dieses nehmen Sie dann auch mit nach Hause.

Sollen wir die Gruppen vor dem Besuch einteilen?
Bitte nicht! Die Gruppen müssen nicht gleich groß sein. Es ist uns wichtig, dass die Schülerinnen und Schüler sich selbst einteilen. Sie übernehmen im Verlauf des Tages Verantwortung für das Gelingen ihrer Teamarbeit. Dazu ist es wichtig, dass die Einteilung freiwillig erfolgt. Kommt eine Gruppe nicht oder nicht in ausreichender Größe zusammen, zeigen wir auch darin auf, wie wir im Unternehmen damit umgehen können.

Kann ich auch mit einer 8. Klasse ins Covestro Science Lab kommen?

Wenn alle Schülerinnen und Schüler mindestens 14 Jahre alt sind, sind Sie mit einer 8. Klasse herzlich willkommen. Bei dieser Altersgrenze kann auf Grund der Chempark-Richtlinien und der Jugendschutzgesetze auch keine Ausnahme gemacht werden. Besonders sinnvoll sind die Klassen, die im Rahmen der Berufsorientierung zu uns kommen.

zurück