Our concept & feedback

The student laboratory is located at the center of the Chempark site in Leverkusen/Cologne, surrounded by enormous manufacturing plants and production buildings. This connection to the real working world is enhanced by the fact that the participants have the opportunity to operate a 250,000-euro injection molding machine.

The authentic environment – the school children are only permitted access to plant grounds when they have been issued a visitor ID – creates the ideal setting for learning and new experiences. We give all participants in the student laboratory a glimpse of the practical working world and a new view of what it's like to work in the natural sciences. The program naturally also includes meals and supervision.

Why and for whom
  •  Take a look behind the scenes at the Covestro Science Lab! 
  •   Discover interesting careers!  
  •   Find out what your strengths are!  
  •   Thinking of changing your major? Rethink decisions.  
  •   Hands-on chemistry! It's motivational – For school children in grades 9 and 10  
  •   Chemistry class on the practical side – For the senior grades  
  •   Lecture hall versus plastics lab – For university students  
  •   Career exposure program – For prospective vocational trainees  
  •   Expanding educational horizons – For teachers  
  •   A chance to get involved – For the families of customers and employees
Schedule
A day at Covestro Science Lab begins at 9 a.m. A welcoming address – getting acquainted – discussion – questions – and then it's time to get to work. Both minds and machines run at full steam during the work phase. That's why there's a planned break for some relaxation. Once the work is completed, it gets evaluated, presented, praised and constructively criticized.

Your starting material: plastic in granule form! What can be made out of it? We want your ideas! Give your imagination free reign! Which plastic is best suited to the task? That question is for the material testers! A lot of ideas, but which one is feasible? Ideas are turned into reality using a modern injection molding machine. In the end, you can proudly hold your finished product in your own two hands. What an achievement!

The day's schedule in detail.

The teams and their tasks
A choice can be made between five teams with different tasks. The research team tracks down the right material. The design team deals with colors, effects, textures and shapes. Raw materials procurement, the right machine settings and efficient manufacturing are a challenge for the engineering team. The finance team makes sure the numbers are right, while the communications team is responsible for smooth collaboration between all the teams and for presenting the results.
Feedback
Some 3,000 take part in the student laboratory every year.

We receive a great deal of positive feedback from school students, teachers, university students, vocational students and many other program participants and visitors.

You, too, can send us your feedback about our concept and programs.

Your opinion is important to us!

Visit us on Facebook

Unser Konzept & Feedback

Das Schülerlabor liegt inmitten des Chemparks in Leverkusen/Köln und ist umgeben von riesigen Anlagen und Hallen. Dieser Bezug zur realen Arbeitswelt wird dadurch verstärkt, dass die Teilnehmer selbst Hand an eine 250.000 € teure Spritzgießmaschine legen dürfen.

Diese authentische Umgebung – die Schüler dürfen das Werksgelände nur mit einem Besucherausweis betreten – sorgt für eine optimale Lern- und Erfahrungswelt. Wir ermöglichen allen Besuchern des Schülerlabors einen Einblick in die Praxis und eröffnen eine neue Sicht auf das Arbeiten in naturwissenschaftlichen Bereichen. Für eine gute Verpflegung und Betreuung wird selbstverständlich ebenfalls gesorgt.

Warum und für wen

  •     Im Covestro Science Lab hinter die Kulissen sehen!
  •     Interessante Berufe entdecken! 
  •     Herausfinden, wo die Stärken liegen! 
  •     Doch etwas anderes studieren? Entscheidungen überdenken. 
  •     Chemie hautnah! Das motiviert - für Schüler/innen der Klasse 9 bis 10 
  •     Chemiekurs mal ganz praktisch - für Schüler/innen der Oberstufe
  •     Hörsaal versus Kunststofflabor - für Studenten/innen 
  •     Schnupperkurs in Sachen Beruf - für angehende Azubis 
  •     Den pädagogischen Horizont erweitern - für Lehrer/innen 
  •     Chance zum Mitreden - für Angehörige von Kunden und Mitarbeitern

Tagesablauf

Ein Tag im Covestro Science Lab startet gegen 9 Uhr. Begrüßen - Kennenlernen - Besprechen - Fragen – und los geht´s an die Arbeit. Nicht nur Köpfe, auch Maschinen laufen heiß. Deshalb gibt es auch eine Pause zum Relaxen. Ist die Arbeit getan, wird ausgewertet, präsentiert, gelobt und kritisiert.

Ihr Ausgangsmaterial: Kunststoffgranulat! Was könnte daraus werden? Ihre Ideen sind gefragt! Lassen Sie Ihrer Phantasie freien Lauf! Welcher Kunststoff ist geeignet? Da müssen die Materialprüfer ran! Viele Ideen - welche ist machbar? Umgesetzt werden die Ideen an einer modernen Spritzgießmaschine. Am Ende halten Sie stolz Ihr fertiges Produkt in den Händen. Das kann sich doch sehen lassen!

Das Tagesprogramm im Detail.

Die Teams und ihre Aufgaben

Fünf Teams mit unterschiedlichen Aufgaben stehen zur Auswahl. Das Forscherteam ist dem richtigen Material auf der Spur. Im Designteam geht es um Farben, Effekte, Muster, Formen. Rohstoffbeschaffung und richtige Maschineneinstellungen sowie rationale Herstellung fordern das Technikteam. Das Finanzteam sorgt dafür, dass die Zahlen stimmen. Für die reibungslose Zusammenarbeit aller Teams und die Präsentation der Ergebnisse ist das Kommunikationsteam zuständig.

Feedback

Etwa 3.000 Kursteilnehmer besuchen uns jedes Jahr im Schülerlabor.

Wir erhalten zahlreiche positive Rückmeldungen von Schülern, Lehrern, Studenten, Auszubildenden und vielen anderen Kursteilnehmern und Besuchern.

Auch Sie können uns Ihre Meinung zu unserem Konzept und zu den Kursen zukommen lassen.

Ihre Meinung ist uns wichtig.

Besuchen Sie uns auf Facebook