High-quality materials from Brunsbüttel and the Lower Rhine

Helpful in everyday life

Covestro develops and produces high-quality materials in Germany that are used in many areas of daily life and provide lasting benefits. Not only do they help to meet such major challenges as climate protection, resource scarcity and increasing mobility, they also help to make us more comfortable.
In addition to a steady stream of new and innovative products, the company also offers complex solutions developed in close collaboration with major customer industries, such as the automotive, construction or the electrical and electronics industries.

The product range comprises raw materials for polyurethane foams, the high-performance plastic polycarbonate and precursors for paints, coatings, adhesives and sealants.

Rigid foam is used to insulate buildings and refrigerators, for example, while flexible polyurethane foam is used in such things as mattresses and upholstered furniture or as a composite material in automobiles. Robust, transparent and lightweight, polycarbonate is used for such things as CDs, eyeglass lenses, car bodies and headlights, sports equipment and also the roofs and facades of buildings.

At the Brunsbüttel site, production is focused on the chemical diphenylmethane diisocyanate (MDI), which is required for rigid foam.

Dormagen is the production center for the chemical toluene diisocyanate, which is required for the production of flexible foam. The state-of-the-art, industrial-scale TDI plant has a production capacity of 300,000 metric tons per year. The company also produces another polyurethane component, polyols, there. Thermoplastic polyurethanes, polycarbonate films and a special base material for cosmetics are also produced at the plant. Finally, Covestro also produces trimeric isocyanates, which are hardeners for coating systems, as well as rubber and chlorinated rubber in Dormagen. The chlorinated rubber with the trade name Pergut® is a precursor for coatings, adhesives and specialty paints, and is used primarily in corrosion protection applications.

Krefeld-Uerdingen is a traditional site for the production of polycarbonate, the best-known brand of which is Makrolon®. Covestro also produces the chemical MDI there, which is required for rigid polyurethane foam.

In Leverkusen, the company operates facilities for the production of the coating raw materials hexamethylene diisocyanate (HDI) and isophorone diisocyanate (IPDI).

Hochwertige Materialien aus Brunsbüttel und vom Niederrhein

Hilfreich im täglichen Leben

Covestro entwickelt und produziert auch in Deutschland hochwertige Werkstoffe, die in vielen Bereichen des täglichen Lebens Verwendung finden und nachhaltigen Nutzen bringen. Sie helfen, großen Herausforderungen wie Klimaschutz, Ressourcenknappheit und zunehmender Mobilität zu begegnen, aber auch dem Wunsch nach mehr Komfort.
Neben immer neuen innovativen Produkten bietet das Unternehmen auch komplexe Lösungen an, die in enger Zusammenarbeit mit großen Abnehmerbereichen wie der Automobilindustrie, der Baubranche oder der Elektro- und Elektronikindustrie entstehen.

Die Produktpalette umfasst Rohstoffe für Polyurethan-Schaumstoffe, den Hochleistungskunststoff Polycarbonat sowie Vorprodukte für Farben, Lacke, Kleb- und Dichtstoffe.

Harter Schaumstoff dient unter anderem zur Dämmung von Gebäuden und Kühlgeräten, während Polyurethan-Weichschaum beispielsweise in Matratzen und Polstermöbeln oder als Verbundwerkstoff in Autos verwendet wird. Das robuste, transparente und leichte Polycarbonat kommt unter anderem in CDs, Brillengläsern, Auto-Karosserien und Scheinwerfern, Sportgeräten sowie Gebäudedächern und Fassaden zum Einsatz.

Am Standort Brunsbüttel liegt der Schwerpunkt auf der Produktion der Chemikalie Diphenylmethandiisocyanat (MDI), die für harten Schaumstoff benötigt wird.

Dormagen ist Produktionszentrum der Chemikalie Toluylen-Diisocyanat, die zur Herstellung von weichem Schaumstoff gebraucht wird. Die hochmoderne TDI-Großanlage hat eine Produktionskapazität von 300.000 Tonnen pro Jahr. Zudem stellt das Unternehmen dort Polyole her, eine weitere Polyurethan-Komponente. Aus dem Werk kommen ferner thermoplastische Polyurethane, Polycarbonat-Folien und ein spezieller Basisstoff für Kosmetika. Schließlich produziert Covestro in Dormagen Härter für Lacksysteme, sogenannte trimere Isocyanate, sowie Kautschuk und Chlorkautschuk. Der Chlorkautschuk mit dem Handelsnamen Pergut® ist ein Vorprodukt für Lacke, Klebstoffe und Spezialfarben und wird vor allem im Korrosionsschutz eingesetzt.

Krefeld-Uerdingen ist ein Traditionsstandort zur Herstellung von Polycarbonat, dessen bekannteste Marke Makrolon® ist. Außerdem produziert Covestro dort die Chemikalie MDI, die für Polyurethan-Hartschaum benötigt wird.

In Leverkusen stehen Anlagen zur Herstellung der Lackrohstoffe Hexamethylendiisocyanat (HDI) und Isophorondiisocyanat (IPDI).