Raw materials network: Key success factor in global competition

A major pillar of the success and attractiveness of the chemical industry sites on the Lower Rhine is the network between the three Chemparks in Krefeld-Uerdingen, Dormagen and Leverkusen. The tight integration of the facilities within the individual Chemparks also offers ideal conditions in the bitter competition for market share. The reliable supply of the plants with raw materials, such as hydrogen, natural gas, carbon monoxide and nitrogen, and various forms of energy is a must in order to compete internationally.
Dormagen
Dormagen, one of three Covestro sites on the Lower Rhine
In many respects, Covestro’s North Rhine-Westphalian sites already work in a tight network. Examples include pipelines, transport routes and means, utilities, fire protection and other safety services, as well as medical care. The optimal interplay between these cost, quality and safety-relevant competitive factors is the decisive difference when choosing a production site in the chemical industry. The companies located here are the beneficiaries of this efficient network. The network is the guarantor of your competitiveness.

In the raw materials network, pipelines are responsible for the basic supply of industrial-scale production plants. Experience shows them to be a reliable and long-term solution, as well as the best means of transportation for many liquid and gaseous substances with respect to environmental and safety aspects. Furthermore, the ecological impact of laying a pipeline is very low, and the lines are well protected in the ground, thus minimizing the risk of accidents.

Covestro has been operating a variety of pipelines for years, including carbon monoxide (CO) pipelines. CO is one of the key basic substances for the chemical industry. Production capacity for CO at the Covestro site in Krefeld-Uerdingen will not be sufficient to meet long-term demand. The company is therefore planning to supply the facilities there with CO by means of a pipeline running from Chempark Dormagen, where sufficient CO capacity is available. The comprehensive safety concept for the new carbon monoxide pipeline exceeds statutory requirements. For example, it will be operated at a pressure of no more than 13.5 bar, even though it has a design pressure of 100 bar and has been tested at pressures in excess of 200 bar. This pipeline, which is 67 kilometers long, has been technically completed, but has not yet commenced operation due to legal disputes and regulatory requirements.

Additional information about the carbon monoxide pipeline between Dormagen and Uerdingen is available here (only in german).

A CO line between the Dormagen and Leverkusen sites has been in operation for years. It runs along the left bank of the Rhine, crossing under the river at Cologne-Merkenich in a utility tunnel, also known as a culvert. The culvert contains a total of ten pipes and due to its design cannot be enlarged. This harbors great disadvantages for the future, including for maintenance. Therefore, the culvert has now been replaced by a new one: The new culvert has an outer diameter of three meters, it can be walked on, maintenance or re-fitting can be done inside. The unit was approved by the authorities and received operations permission in 2017.

Additional information on the new culvert is available here.

Rohstoffverbund: Entscheidender Erfolgsfaktor im globalen Wettbewerb

Ein wesentlicher Pfeiler des Erfolgs und der Attraktivität der Chemiestandorte am Niederrhein ist die vorhandene Verbundstruktur zwischen den drei Chemparks Krefeld-Uerdingen, Dormagen und Leverkusen. Auch die enge Vernetzung der Betriebe innerhalb der einzelnen Chemparks sorgt für gute Voraussetzungen im harten Wettbewerb um Marktanteile. Die zuverlässige Versorgung der Betriebe mit Rohstoffen wie Wasserstoff, Erdgas, Kohlenmonoxid, Stickstoff und verschiedenen Energieformen sind ein Muss, um international mithalten zu können.
Dormagen, einer der drei Standorte von Covestro am Niederrhein
Die nordrhein-westfälischen Standorte von Covestro arbeiten in vielerlei Hinsicht bereits im engen Verbund. Beispiele sind Rohrleitungen, Verkehrswege und -mittel, Energiequellen, Brandschutz und andere Sicherheitsdienstleistungen, aber auch die medizinische Versorgung. Das optimale Ineinandergreifen dieser kosten-, qualitäts- und sicherheitsrelevanten Wettbewerbsfaktoren macht den entscheidenden Unterschied bei der Wahl eines Produktionsstandortes in der industriellen Chemie aus: Die ansässigen Betriebe sind Nutznießer dieses effizienten Netzwerks. Der Verbund ist Garant ihrer Wettbewerbsfähigkeit.

Im Rohstoffverbund übernehmen Rohrleitungen die Basisversorgung für große Produktionsanlagen. Sie sind erfahrungsgemäß eine  zuverlässige und langfristige Lösung - und unter Umwelt- sowie Sicherheitsaspekten das beste Transportmittel für viele flüssige und gasförmige Stoffe. Die Verlegung von Rohrleitungen ist zudem ökologisch kaum belastend und die Leitungen liegen unter der Erde gut geschützt. Mögliche Unfallgefahren sind so auf ein Minimum reduziert.

Covestro betreibt seit Jahren verschiedene Rohrleitungen – darunter auch für Kohlenmonoxid (CO). Denn CO ist einer der wichtigen Grundstoffe für die chemische Industrie. Am Covestro-Standort Krefeld-Uerdingen reicht dessen Produktionskapazität auf Dauer nicht aus. Daher sollen die Betriebe dort über eine Rohrleitung mit CO aus dem Chempark Dormagen versorgt werden, wo ausreichend CO-Kapazität zur Verfügung steht. Das umfangreiche Sicherheitskonzept der neuen Kohlenmonoxid-Leitung geht über die gesetzlichen Anforderungen hinaus. So wird sie mit einem Druck von höchstens 13,5 bar betrieben. Konstruiert ist sie jedoch für 100 bar, und getestet wurde sie mit mehr als 200 bar. Die 67 Kilometer lange Rohrleitung ist technisch  fertiggestellt, aber wegen Rechtsstreitigkeiten und behördlicher Auflagen noch nicht in Betrieb.

Weitere Informationen zur Kohlenmonoxid-Leitung zwischen Dormagen und Uerdingen finden Sie hier.

Seit vielen Jahren in Betrieb ist eine CO-Rohrleitung zwischen den Standorten Dormagen und Leverkusen. Sie verläuft linksrheinisch entlang des Rheinufers und unterquert den Rhein bei Köln-Merkenich. Hier liegt ein Versorgungstunnel - ein so genannter Düker. Er enthält insgesamt zehn Rohre und kann aufgrund seiner Bauweise nicht erweitert werden. Das bringt für die Zukunft große Nachteile, unter anderem für die Instandhaltung. Der Düker soll daher durch einen Neubau ersetzt werden, für den die Bezirksregierung bereits die Baugenehmigung erteilt hat.

Weitere Informationen zum geplanten Düker-Neubau finden Sie hier.