Efficient and reliable supply

Everything you need

The raw materials and energy supply network at the Covestro Brunsbüttel Industrial Park connects companies to everything they need. Whether electricity, steam or natural gas, or refrigeration, nitrogen, compressed air or water – all are continuously available at market prices.
Employee in the gas phase oxidation plant

The electricity and gas supplies from the public grid are managed by Covestro Brunsbüttel Energie GmbH, a wholly owned subsidiary of Covestro. Steam, refrigeration and cooling, compressed air and nitrogen are supplied by the company’s own power plant on site. Feeds to the plants are handled by a complex system of pipelines. Rounding out the range of utilities supplied is water for cooling, processes and drinking purposes, which is available in large quantities at all times.

State-of-the-art disposal and sustainable recycling management are further key service features of the Brunsbüttel chemical site.

Biological wastewater treatment plant

A special treatment plant, for example, ensures that production plant wastewater contaminated with organics is purified biologically. The process has been copied from nature: With the help of oxygen dissolved in the water, bacteria “eat” the organic substances and grow and multiply as a result. The water treatment plant with its four biological towers can treat up to 3,840 cubic meters of wastewater daily.

Thanks to constant improvements and technical modifications to the plant, such as the installation of an upstream denitrification stage, the quality of the water released into the Elbe is improving continuously.

Another installation for treating production wastewater is a gas-phase oxidation plant (GPO), which can also be used to recycle liquid wastes with high heating value. Both wastewater and liquid wastes are incinerated in the gaseous phase with atmospheric oxygen and the help of a liquid fuel support flame. The organic pollutants are completely oxidized during this process. The inorganic constituents are fed as salts into the water, which may then require post-treatment.

The GPO plant comprises two functional elements:

  • an evaporation unit for concentrating wastewater and liquid wastes (with an evaporation capacity of 150,000 cubic meters per year)
  • and an incineration unit with steam generation and attached flue gas scrubber (annual capacity of the combustion unit is 25,000 cubic meters).

Sichere und effiziente Versorgung

Alles, was man braucht

Mit dem Rohstoff- und Energienetzsystem des Covestro Industrieparks Brunsbüttel haben Firmen Anschluss an alles, was sie brauchen. Ob Strom, Dampf und Erdgas, ob Kälte, Stickstoff, Druckluft und Wasser – sie stehen kontinuierlich und zu marktgerechten Preisen zur Verfügung.
Mitarbeiter in der Gasphasenoxidationsanlage

Die Strom- und Gasversorgung aus dem öffentlichen Netz regelt die Covestro Brunsbüttel Energie GmbH, eine 100% Tochter von Covestro. Mit eigenen Erzeugungsanlagen werden vor Ort Dampf, Kälte, Druckluft und Stickstoff bereitgestellt. Die Zuführung zu den Betrieben erfolgt durch ein komplexes Rohrleitungssystem. Abgerundet wird das Versorgungsangebot durch Kühl-, Betriebs- und Trinkwasser, das ständig in großen Mengen bereitsteht.

Entsorgung auf höchstem technischen Niveau und ein nachhaltiges Verwertungsmanagement sind weitere wesentliche Leistungsmerkmale des Chemiestandorts Brunsbüttel.

Biologische Kläranlage

So sorgt eine spezielle Kläranlage dafür, dass organisch belastetes Abwasser aus den Produktionsbetrieben biologisch gereinigt wird. Das Verfahren ist der Natur abgeschaut: Mit Hilfe von im Wasser gelöstem Sauerstoff "fressen" Bakterien die organischen Stoffe, wodurch sie wachsen und sich vermehren. Die Kläranlage mit ihren vier Turmbiologien kann pro Tag bis zu 3.840 Kubikmeter Abwasser aufbereiten.

Ständige Verbesserungen und technische Erweiterungen der Anlage - wie die Errichtung einer vorgeschalteten Denitrifikationsstufe - machen es möglich, dass sich die Qualität des in die Elbe eingeleiteten Wassers kontinuierlich verbessert.

Eine weitere Einrichtung zur Aufarbeitung von Produktionsabwasser ist eine Gasphasen-Oxidationsanlage (GPO), mit der sich außerdem heizwertreicher flüssiger Abfall verwerten lässt. Beide werden in der Gasphase mit Luftsauerstoff in einer Flüssigbrennstoff-Stützflamme verbrannt. Die organischen Schadstoffe werden dabei vollständig oxidiert. Die anorganischen Bestandteile werden als Salze ins Wasser geleitet, das gegebenenfalls nachbehandelt werden muss.

Die GPO-Anlage besteht aus zwei funktionalen Elementen:

  • Eindampfteil zur Aufkonzentrierung von Abwässern und wässrigen Abfällen, Verdampfungskapazität von 150.000 Kubikmetern pro Jahr
  • Verbrennungsteil mit Dampferzeugung und dazugehöriger Rauchgasreinigung, Jahreskapazität der Verbrennungseinheit 25.000 Kubikmeter